A Big Adventure: New Zealand pt. 1

This summer, I went on an adventure to the other side of the world with some of my cousins.

After Singapore, we headed onto Queenstown, New Zealand where our cousin had been living for the past year.

The first thing that hit us as soon as we stepped off the plane.. was the COLD. Going from 35+ degrees to 5 is a shock, I tell you! We arrived at my cousins house and were immediately blown away by the view from his balcony, surrounded by snow-capped mountains and looking down on a crisp blue lake

Just as the sun was setting, we headed into town and walked around the lake. Then for pizza and beer.. the best kind of dinner after a long day of travelling!

Queenstown is a typical backpackers city and has such a chilled vibe. The next day, we were ready for the first adventure of the trip and headed into town to be collected for the Lord of the Rings tour in Glenorchy. I was so excited to see the places where one of the best film series was filmed and to be able to take in more of New Zealand’s beauty.

The scenes were breathtaking and you could almost imagine the Fellowship running across the mountains behind us. Our tour guide was so lovely and continued to wow us with amazing facts throughout the afternoon.

This place was Isengard in the films and my favourite stop of the tour!
This country is just SO beautiful.

The next day we set off early to see the Franz Josef Glacier. We walked and watched the sun rise over the mountains. It was so surreal to be surrounded by both snow capped mountains and palm trees! I love walking when the air is crisp and the sky is clear.

As we got closer to the glacier, we were just blown away by how incredible it was! I think the next time I go to New Zealand I’m going to save to be able to take a helicopter and hike through the snow. We saw some people up there and the views must’ve been amazing.

But the view from the bottom was pretty stunning too.

It was SO worth the early start. We then continued the adventure, with me at the wheel.. I don’t know who was more nervous about the fact that I was driving an automatic for the first time, me or my passengers 😉

Bye for now x

Leave a comment